EN/FR

ROGER BALLEN
Outland

AGENCE VU' / UNITED STATES

www.agencevu.com
www.rogerballen.com

In the “Outland” series (1995 – 2000), Roger Ballen focused on white, marginalized populations around Johannesburg in South Africa. Gradually resisting the codes of classic documentary photography used in his previous series, he tackled an original approach in the construction of these images. This new orientation marked a major transformation in Ballen’s creative process, in which reality and fiction combine.
In “Outland” – which means “at the margins of society” or “at the limitations of the psyche” - Ballen integrated the theatricality of certain situations in the everyday life of the people that he photographed. The latter began to be actively involved in the production of the images by fictionalizing their own portrayal. However that doesn’t make them actors or simple models. Ballen created a hybrid image in which portrait and picture were combined. The relationship that these people photographed have with the shot proves to be multiple and complex, just like the relationships which govern contemporary society.
In “Outland”, a feeling of alienation is demonstrated and this relationship between order and chaos sheds light on Ballen’s questioning about the workings of the world.

BIOGRAPHY

Born in New York in 1950, Roger Ballen has worked in South Africa since 1982. His style has evolved from photojournalism towards a more unusual artistic vision. His work has been exhibited in important institutions around the world and is included in many collections, like the Centre Georges-Pompidou, the Tate Gallery in London and the Museum of Modern Art in New York. He was the recipient of the Rencontres internationales de la photographie in Arles prize in 2002. ‘Not belonging to any particular photography genre, although inhabited by undeniable social documentary strength, (his work) has become incontestable over time whilst continuing to gain in complexity,’, Domnique Eddé, Photo Poche N°140, published by Actes Sud.

PREVIEW


// PREVIEW //

"Outland"
FRIDAY 10th MAY – 5pm / MAISON DE L'IMAGE DOCUMENTAIRE
3 rue Raspail
In the presence of the photographer.


// AUTOGRAPHS //

Book signing sessions have been organised in partnership with the bookshop L'Échappée Belle, during previews and at the Chais des Moulins, from 8th to 12th May.

EXHIBITIONS

EN/FR

ROGER BALLEN
Outland

AGENCE VU' / ÉTATS-UNIS

www.agencevu.com
www.rogerballen.com

Dans la série “Outland” (1995 – 2000), Roger Ballen se concentre sur les populations blanches et marginalisées aux alentours de Johannesburg en Afrique du Sud. Déjouant peu à peu les codes de la photographie documentaire classique utilisée dans ses séries précédentes, il aborde dans la construction de ces images une approche originale. Cette nouvelle orientation marque une transformation majeure dans le processus créatif de Ballen, dans lequel la réalité et la fiction s’entremêlent.
Dans “Outland” – qui signifie “en marge de la société” ou “aux limites de la psyché” - Ballen intègre la théâtralité de certaines situations de la vie quotidienne des personnes qu’il photographie. Celles-ci commencent à participer activement à la production des images en fictionnalisant leur propre représentation. Pour autant, ça n’en fait pas des acteurs, ni de simples modèles. Ballen créé une image hybride dans laquelle s’entremêlent portrait et tableau. Le rapport à la prise de vue qu’ont les personnes photographiées se révèle multiple et complexe, tout comme le sont les relations qui régissent la société contemporaine.
Dans “Outland”, un sentiment d’aliénation est mis en évidence et cette relation entre ordre et chaos éclaire le questionnement de Ballen sur le fonctionnement du monde.

BIOGRAPHIE

Né à New York en 1950, Roger Ballen travaille depuis 1982 en Afrique du Sud. Son style a évolué du photojournalisme vers une vision artistique plus singulière. Son travail a été exposé dans d’importantes institutions à travers le monde et fait partie de nombreuses collections, comme celles du Centre Georges-Pompidou, de la Tate Gallery à Londres, ou encore du musée d’Art moderne de New York. Il a été lauréat du Prix des Rencontres internationales de la photographie d'Arles en 2002. « N’appartenant à aucun genre photographique précis , bien qu’habitée d’une indiscutable force documentaire sociale, (son œuvre) est devenue , au fil du temps, incontestable tout en ne cessant de gagner en complexité », Dominique Eddé, Photo Poche N°140, éditions Actes Sud.

VERNISSAGE


// VERNISSAGE //

VENDREDI 10 MAI - 17H / MAISON DE L'IMAGE DOCUMENTAIRE
3 rue Raspail
En présence du photographe.


// VISITE AVEC PHOTOGRAPHE //

SAMEDI 11 MAI - 10H / MAISON DE L'IMAGE DOCUMENTAIRE

// DÉDICACES //

Des séances de signatures de livres sont organisées en partenariat avec la librairie L'Échappée Belle, lors des vernissages et aux Chais des Moulins, du 8 au 12 mai.

EXPOSITIONS