EN/FR

MARTIN BOGREN
Daybreakers

Teenagers are bored stiff in the south of Sweden so young people meet up on the outskirts of the villages for car chases mirroring Rebel without a Cause. Big American cars are not involved but old converted Volvos are used that can be driven from the age of fifteen. The cars form a circle in the yard of a disused factory and the boys take turns to do “burnouts,” they burn their tyres in a strange nuptial dance.

They show off, challenge each other and the engines fill the air with petrol fumes. The games sometimes continue and the boys and girls all sleep together in their cars… Martin Bogren met and then followed these young angel-faced Swedes. He shared their idleness and kinship. A half frame camera producing grainy black and white prints is the only requirement to produce the unique style of this little known photographer.

Exhibition supported by the Swedish Institute.

BIOGRAPHY

Martin Bogren was born in Sweden in 1967. He photographed artists in the 1990s. His first book The Cardigans _Been It was published in 1996 after several years on tour with the group. His work gained recognition in the new millennium with the publication of Ocean. It won the prize for the best photo book in Sweden in 2009. His work belongs to several prestigious private, as well as public collections, including the Bibliothèque Nationale de France and the Oregon Fine Art Museum. He is represented by Fotografiska in Stockholm and Swedish Photography in Berlin.

PREVIEW


// PREVIEW //

"Daybreakers"
FRIDAY 10th MAY – 5pm / MAISON DE L'IMAGE DOCUMENTAIRE
3 rue Raspail
In the presence of the photographer


// AUTOGRAPHS //

Book signing sessions have been organised in partnership with the bookshop L'Échappée Belle, during previews and at the Chais des Moulins, from 8th to 12th May.

EXHIBITIONS

EN/FR

MARTIN BOGREN
Daybreakers

On s’ennuie ferme quand on est adolescent dans le sud de la Suède. Alors les jeunes se retrouvent dans la périphérie des villages pour une fureur de vivre revisitée. Pas de grosses américaines mais plutôt des vieilles Volvo transformées que l’on peut conduire dès l’âge de quinze ans. Les voitures forment un cercle dans la cour d’une usine désaffectée et les garçons à tour de rôle font des “burn out”, ils brûlent leurs pneus dans une étrange danse nuptiale.

Ils friment, mesurent leur force et les moteurs embaument l’air de vapeurs d’essence. Les jeux se prolongent parfois et tous ensemble, garçons et filles, dorment dans les voitures… Martin Bogren a rencontré puis suivi ces jeunes suédois aux visages d’ange. Il a partagé leur désoeuvrement et leur intimité. Un gros grain noir et blanc, un appareil demi-format et un vrai style pour ce photographe trop méconnu.

Une exposition soutenue par l’Institut suédois.

BIOGRAPHIE

Martin Bogren est né en Suède en 1967. Dans les années 1990, il photographie des artistes. Son premier livre The Cardigans _Been It est publié en 1996 après plusieurs années de tournée avec le groupe. Son travail gagne en notoriété dans les années 2000 avec la publication de l’ouvrage Ocean. Celui-ci reçoit le prix du meilleur livre photo en Suède en 2009. Son travail compte parmi plusieurs collections prestigieuses aussi bien privées que publiques dont la bibliothèque nationale de France, l’Oregon Fine Art Museum. Il est représenté par Fotografiska à Stockholm et la Photographie suédoise à Berlin.

VERNISSAGE


// VERNISSAGE //

VENDREDI 10 MAI - 17H / MAISON DE L'IMAGE DOCUMENTAIRE
3 rue Raspail
En présence du photographe.

// VISITE AVEC PHOTOGRAPHE //

SAMEDI 11 MAI - 13H30 / MAISON DE L'IMAGE DOCUMENTAIRE

// DÉDICACES //

Des séances de signatures de livres sont organisées en partenariat avec la librairie L'Échappée Belle, lors des vernissages et aux Chais des Moulins, du 8 au 12 mai.

EXPOSITIONS