EN/FR

GIANNI CIPRIANO
Perfect
SNCF STATION > 8th - 26th MAY

Starting from the premise (Aristotle) that imperfection is the greatest of perfections, Gianni Cipriano, a Sicilian photographer who splits his time between New York and Palermo, is proposing a tour of Italy under Berlusconi and its silicon beauties.
He has travelled extensively across Italy, on the lookout for improbable beauty queens in six “unconventional” Miss competitions. In Italy he told us: ‘Beauty became a political tool during the Berlusconi era. Since the eighties, his media empire has introduced a culture of luxury and sex in order to shape his electorate.’
Italy has become a country where female television stars are parachuted towards power, and this modern power has resulted in an unprecedented wave of beauty contests of all types.

Exhibition produced in partnership with Gares & Connexions.

BIOGRAPHY

• Born in 1983 in Sicily, Gianni Cipriano is an independent photographer who shares his time between New York and Palermo. He studied at the International Center of Photography in New York, and trained with the photojournalists Ron Haviv and Christopher Anderson. In 2008, he featured amongst the "Emerging Talent" in the Getty Images reporting category. Since 2009, Gianni Cipriano has belonged to the Reflexions Masterclass, an international seminar for teaching contemporary photography. For three consecutive years, he has been nominated at the Joop Swart World Press Photo Masterclass. His work relates to social, political and economic themes. He is interested in the link between identity and the influence of mass culture. His work has been published in the New York Times, Le Monde, D Repubblica and Vanity Fair. His work is distributed by OnOffPicture.

PREVIEW


// PREVIEW //

Exhibition "Perfect"
FRIDAY 10th MAY – 4pm / SNCF STATION
Place Cambon
In the presence of the photographer.


// AUTOGRAPHS //

• Book signing sessions have been organised in partnership with the bookshop L'Échappée Belle, during previews and at the Chais des Moulins, from 8th to 12th May.

EXHIBITIONS

EN/FR

GIANNI CIPRIANO
Perfect
GARE SNCF > 8-26 MAI

Partant du postulat (Aristote) que l’imperfection est la plus grande des perfections, Gianni Cipriano, photographe sicilien mais qui partage son temps entre New York et Palerme, nous propose un tour de l’Italie berlusconienne et de ses beautés siliconées.
Il a voyagé un peu partout en Italie, à la recherche de reines de beauté improbables dans six concours de miss “non conventionnels”. En Italie nous dit-il : « La beauté est devenue un outil politique pendant l’ère Berlusconi. Depuis les années quatre-vingt, son empire médiatique a introduit une culture du luxe et du sexe afin de façonner son électorat ».
L’Italie est devenue un pays où les vedettes féminines de télévision sont parachutées vers le pouvoir, et cette culture moderne a entraîné une vague sans précédent de concours de beauté en tous genres.

Exposition réalisée en partenariat avec Gares & Connexions.

BIOGRAPHIE

Né en 1983 en Sicile, Gianni Cipriano est un photographe indépendant qui partage son temps entre New York et Palerme. Il étudie au Centre de Photographie à New York, et se forme auprès des photojournalistes Ron Haviv et Christopher Anderson. En 2008, il figurait parmi les "Talents émergents" de la catégorie Reportage de Getty Images. Depuis 2009, Gianni Cipriano fait partie du Reflexions Masterclass, séminaire international pour l’enseignement de la photographie contemporaine. Pendant trois ans de suite, il a été nominé au Joop Swart World Press Photo Masterclass. Son œuvre porte sur des thématiques sociales, politiques et économiques. Il s’intéresse au lien entre l’identité et l’influence de la culture de masse. Il a notamment été publié, dans le New York Times, Le Monde, D Repubblica et Vanity Fair. Son travail est distribué par OnOffPicture.

VERNISSAGE


// VERNISSAGE //

Exposition "Perfect"
VENDREDI 10 MAI - 16H / GARE SNCF
Place Cambon
En présence du photographe.


// DÉDICACES //

Des séances de signatures de livres sont organisées en partenariat avec la librairie L'Échappée Belle, lors des vernissages et aux Chais des Moulins, du 8 au 12 mai.

EXPOSITIONS