EN/FR

HUGUES DE WURSTEMBERGER
Saharans
BOULODROME AGROCANET > > 8th - 26th MAY
“DESERT” THEME

AGENCE VU' / SWITZERLAND

www.agencevu.com

During several visits to the Western Sahara, refusing press trips and naive propaganda, Hugues de Wurstemberger shared the everyday lives of Saharans for a long period of time.
From 1991, he came back with a portrait which expresses his warm regard for these people and the cause that they defend, but which, by focusing on the ordinary and apparently anecdotal moments of their everyday life, also unveils the immemorial beauty of this people and its traditional lifestyle. Men live between the sand and the sky, far from the exoticism of dromedary caravans and kohl rimmed gazes.
Their hundreds of year old traditions are repeated, generation after generation, to protect a culture under threat. The subtly composed precise compositions toy with disequilibrium and light vibrations to provide a magical dimension to the most trivial situations and extract the fragile and precarious beauty.
This work falls within a new style of documentary which breaks the mould of the traditional rules of the genre to propose a new, slightly off-set vision of reality, but which drastically alters the conventions of our portrayal of reality. His perspective has invented a new ethnological approach through photography.

BIOGRAPHY

Hugues de Wurstemberger was born in 1955 in Switzerland. He has constructed a moving family album entitled Pauline and Pierre, the names of his two children. An accurate tone examining a childhood which teaches the tricks of the trade about the world. Particular attention is paid to the light through this black and white rendition with a square format, and the amazing and elegant freedom of the setting resists influence as well as repetition. Hugues de Wurstemberger lives and breathes photography. Whether a Swiss guard at the Vatican, a companion of the Saharan people, immersed in Africa or Latin America or a commentator in Switzerland about declining small-scale farmers, he always has this fresh vision, combined with high demands that make all his images seem self-evident.

PREVIEW


// PREVIEW //

themed exhibition "Desert"
THURSDAY 9th MAY – 6pm / BOULODROME AGROCANET
Quai des Moulins
In the presence of the photographer.


// AUTOGRAPHS //

Book signing sessions have been organised in partnership with the bookshop L'Échappée Belle, during previews and at the Chais des Moulins, from 8th to 12th May.

EXHIBITIONS

EN/FR

HUGUES DE WURSTEMBERGER
Sahraouis
BOULODROME AGROCANET > 8-26 MAI
THEMA “DÉSERT”

AGENCE VU' / SUISSE

www.agencevu.com

Au cours de plusieurs séjours au Sahara occidental, refusant les voyages de presse et la propagande naïve, Hugues de Wurstemberger a longuement partagé la vie quotidienne des Sahraouis.
Dès 1991, il en a rapporté un portrait qui exprime toute sa sympathie pour ces gens et la cause qu’ils défendent, mais qui, en s’attachant aux instants ordinaires et apparemment anecdotiques de leur vie au jour le jour, révèle aussi la beauté immémoriale de ce peuple et de son mode de vie ancestral. Entre le sable et le ciel vivent des hommes, loin de l’exotisme des caravanes de dromadaires et des regards maquillés au kôhl.
Leurs gestes sont centenaires, répétés de génération en génération pour sauver une culture en péril. Les cadrages précis, subtilement composés, jouent avec le déséquilibre et les vibrations de la lumière pour donner une dimension magique aux situations les plus triviales et en dégager la fragile et précaire beauté.
Ce travail s’inscrit dans un renouveau documentaire qui bouscule les règles traditionnelles du genre pour proposer une nouvelle vision de la réalité, légèrement décalée, mais qui ébranle profondément les conventions de notre représentation du réel. Son regard invente une nouvelle approche ethnologique par la photographie.

BIOGRAPHIE

Hugues de Wurstemberger est né en 1955 en Suisse. Il a réuni sous le titre Pauline et Pierre, prénoms de ses deux enfants, un émouvant album de famille. Une tonalité juste tournée vers une enfance qui fait l’apprentissage du monde. Tout cela en noir et blanc et en carré, avec une attention particulière à la lumière et une étonnante et élégante respiration d’un cadre qui refuse l’effet autant que la répétition. Hugues de Wurstemberger est photographe comme il respire. Garde suisse au Vatican, compagnon des populations sahraouies, immergé en Afrique et en Amérique latine ou chroniqueur en Suisse de la petite paysannerie en déclin, il conserve toujours cette fraîcheur de regard, combinée à une exigence extrême, qui font que toutes ses images nous semblent des évidences.

VERNISSAGE


// VERNISSAGE //

Exposition thématique "Désert"

JEUDI 9 MAI - 18H / BOULODROME AGROCANET
Quai des Moulins
En présence du photographe.

// VISITE AVEC PHOTOGRAPHE //

VENDREDI 10 MAI - 11H30 / BOULODROME AGROCANET

// DÉDICACES //

Des séances de signatures de livres sont organisées en partenariat avec la librairie L'Échappée Belle, lors des vernissages et aux Chais des Moulins, du 8 au 12 mai.

EXPOSITIONS