EN/FR

MOYSE LÉON & GEORGES LÉVY
In Tuareg Country
BOULODROME AGROCANET > 8th - 26th MAY
“DESERT” THEME

ROGER-VIOLLET / FRANCE

www.roger-viollet.fr

The Léon & Levy studio operators performed a real technical feat by photographing the Tuareg community in the Central Sahara with a panoramic camera towards 1900.
The images of the everyday life of the “blue men” are impressive in terms of their precision as well as their sophisticated staging. The prints will be presented in a 16x42 format, like the original photographic plates.
Moyse Léon and Isaac known as Georges Lévy started out during the Second Empire as assistants at the Parisian photographic studio Ferrier-Soulier. They created their own studio in 1864. The collection consists of over 60,000 black and white or hand coloured stereoscopic plates, a true “grand tour” of the world in 1900 circulated by the Roger-Viollet agency.

BIOGRAPHY

Moyse Léon and Isaac known as Georges Lévy started during the Second Empire as assistants at the Parisian photographic studio Ferrier-Soulier. They created their own studio in 1864. On the arrival of Georges Lévy’s two sons in 1895, the company grew and became Lévy & fils. The studio had a period of high activity, editing and selling under the brand LL single prints, albums of travel photographs and postcards until 1917, the date from which all activity ceased.

PREVIEW


// PREVIEW //

themed exhibition "Desert"
THURSDAY 9th MAY – 6pm / BOULODROME AGROCANET
Quai des Moulins

EXHIBITIONS

EN/FR

MOYSE LÉON & GEORGES LÉVY
En pays touareg
BOULODROME AGROCANET > 8-26 MAI
THEMA “DÉSERT”

ROGER-VIOLLET / FRANCE

www.roger-viollet.fr

C’est un véritable tour de force technique que les opérateurs du studio Léon & Levy ont réalisé en allant photographier la communauté touareg dans le Sahara central à la chambre panoramique vers 1900.
Les images de la vie quotidienne des “hommes bleus” sont impressionnantes tant par leur précision que par leur mise en scène sophistiquée. Nous présenterons des tirages au format 16x42, celui des plaques photographiques originales.
Moyse Léon et Isaac dit Georges Lévy débutent sous le Second Empire comme assistants au sein du studio photographique parisien Ferrier- Soulier. Ils fondent leur propre studio en 1864. Le fonds comporte plus de 60 000 plaques stéréoscopiques noir et blanc ou colorisées à la main, un véritable “grand tour” du monde en 1900 diffusé par l’agence Roger-Viollet.

BIOGRAPHIE

Moyse Léon et Isaac dit Georges Lévy débutent sous le Second Empire comme assistants au sein du studio photographique parisien Ferrier-Soulier. Ils fondent leur propre studio en 1864. À l'arrivée des deux fils de Georges Lévy en 1895, la société prend de l'ampleur et devient Lévy & fils. Le studio a une activité intense, éditant et vendant sous la marque LL des tirages à l'unité, des albums de photographies de voyages et des cartes postales jusqu'en 1917, date à laquelle il cesse son activité.

VERNISSAGE


// VERNISSAGE //

Exposition thématique "Désert"

JEUDI 9 MAI - 18H / BOULODROME AGROCANET
Quai des Moulins

EXPOSITIONS