EN/FR

CLAIRE MARTIN
Dropouts
CHAIS DES MOULINS > 8th - 26th MAY

Before being a photographer, the young Australian Claire Martin studied social work. She realised that photography enabled her to document and influence “reality.” She engaged upon a long-term work about marginalized communities in so-called ‘prosperous’ countries. It is a reference to her own family history.

In ‘the most liveable of cities’ Vancouver, she discovered a street abandoned by the public authorities. In the Californian desert, on an old military base, she photographed Slab city, a shanty town of ex-hippies and at home, in Australia, a village in New South Wales, Nimbin, colonised since the seventies by all those who tried to escape the prevailing consumerism.

The first two parts of this work received the Inge-Morath prize in 2010.

BIOGRAPHY

This Australian photographer, born in 1980, began a career in social work before turning to photography, conscious that change can also occur through this medium. Thanks to her documentary work about marginalized communities in rich societies, she won the Magnum Foundation prize in 2010 for the best female photographer under 30 years old. From the start of her career in 2007, her unique style has been widely praised. She was nominated as Emerging Talent in the Getty Images Reportage category and represented Australia for Foto freo in 2010. She recently became a member of the photography group Occuli. She currently works as a freelance photographer and a director of politically engaged documentaries.

PREVIEW


// PREVIEW //

"Dropouts"
WEDNESDAY 8th MAY – 6.30pm / CHAIS DES MOULINS
Quai des Moulins
In the presence of the photographer.


// AUTOGRAPHS //

Book signing sessions have been organised in partnership with the bookshop L'Échappée Belle, during previews and at the Chais des Moulins, from 8th to 12th May.

EXHIBITIONS

EN/FR

CLAIRE MARTIN
Les déclassés
CHAIS DES MOULINS > 8-26 MAI

Avant d’être photographe, la jeune australienne Claire Martin a suivi des études de travailleur social. Elle s’aperçoit alors que la photographie lui permet de documenter et d’avoir un effet sur le “réel”. Elle engage alors un long travail sur des communautés marginalisées dans les pays dits “prospères”. C’est une référence à sa propre histoire familiale.

À Vancouver, « la ville où il fait bon vivre », elle découvre une rue abandonnée par les pouvoirs publics. Dans le désert californien, sur une ancienne base militaire, elle photographie Slab city, un bidonville d’ex-hippies et chez elle, en Australie, un village de la Galles du Sud, Nimbin colonisé depuis les années soixante-dix par tous ceux qui cherchent à échapper au consumérisme ambiant.

Les deux premiers volets de ce travail ont obtenu le prix Inge- Morath en 2010.

BIOGRAPHIE

Cette Australienne, née en 1980, a commencé une carrière dans le social avant de se tourner vers la photographie, consciente que le changement peut également être effectué par ce médium. Grâce à son œuvre documentaire sur les communautés marginalisées dans les sociétés riches, elle a gagné le prix de la Fondation Magnum en 2010 pour la meilleure femme photographe de moins de 30 ans. Dès le début de sa carrière en 2007, son style unique a été couvert d’éloges. Elle a été nominée Talent Emergent dans la catégorie Reportage de Getty Images et a représenté l’Australie pour Foto freo en 2010. Elle est récemment devenue membre du collectif photographique Occuli. Elle travaille actuellement en tant que photographe freelance et réalisatrice de documentaires engagés.

VERNISSAGE


// VERNISSAGE //

MERCREDI 8 MAI - 18H30 / CHAIS DES MOULINS
Quai des Moulins
En présence de la photographe.

// VISITE AVEC PHOTOGRAPHE //

JEUDI 9 MAI - 10h30 / CHAIS DES MOULINS

// DÉDICACES //

Des séances de signatures de livres sont organisées en partenariat avec la librairie L'Échappée Belle, lors des vernissages et aux Chais des Moulins, du 8 au 12 mai.

EXPOSITIONS