EN/FR

EUGENIA MAXIMOVA
Destination eternity

At the end of the 20th century, shortly after the collapse of the Soviet Union, a whole new cemetery culture suddenly emerged in its former territories. This trend materialized with eccentric naturalist engravings. The motifs can vary unbelievably from the simple portrait to lush landscape, including grandiose theatrics and strange montage. The origin of this new fashion remains unknown. The trend may have been initiated, as suggested by some, by the post-Soviet mafia, which became a role model at the start of the 90s.

Many of these cemeteries are not just an expression of grief they are also a celebration of the lifestyle, social status, and the richness of the deceased and the remaining family. Eugenia Maximova tirelessly collected images, in square formats, of these astonishing tombs without any special effects, framing or distance. Her imposing series ends up making sense by reminding us that money now imposes its law on the sacred for the nouveau riche.

BIOGAPHY

Eugenia Maximova was born in Bulgaria. She studied journalism at the University of Vienna and became interested in photography in 2005 after the unexpected death of her mother, a renowned Bulgarian artist. ‘Looking through the viewfinder and pressing on the shutter helped me to escape the painful reality of her death, overcome the shock and soothe the overwhelming grief. Over time, photography has become my favourite means of communication; a new outlet for creative expression for my sentiments and my perception of the world,’ she said. Eugenia travelled widely, eager for understanding and visual truth. In 2010 Eugenia took part in the SEE NEW PERSPECTIVES Masterclass organised by World Press Photography and the Robert Bosh Foundation. In 2011 she was selected for the NOOR – NIKON Masterclass in Documentary Photography.

PREVIEW


// PREVIEW //

"Destination eternity"
WEDNESDAY 8th MAY- 7pm / MAISON DE L'IMAGE DOCUMENTAIRE
3 rue Raspail
In the presence of the photographer.


// AUTOGRAPHS //

Book signing sessions have been organised in partnership with the bookshop L'Échappée Belle, during previews and at the Chais des Moulins, from 8th to 12th May.

EXHIBITIONS

EN/FR

EUGENIA MAXIMOVA
Destination eternity

À la fin du XXe siècle, peu de temps après l’effondrement de l’Union soviétique, une toute nouvelle culture du cimetière a tout d’un coup émergé dans ses anciens territoires. Cette tendance se matérialise dans des gravures d’un naturalisme excentrique. Les motifs peuvent varier de manière incroyable. Du simple portrait au paysage luxuriant, en passant par les mises en scène grandioses et les montages étranges. L’origine de cette nouvelle mode n’est pas vraiment connue. La tendance aurait été lancée, comme certains le suggèrent, par la mafia post-soviétique, qui est devenue un modèle de référence dans le début des années 90.

Beaucoup de ces cimetières ne sont pas seulement une expression du chagrin, ils sont aussi une célébration du mode de vie, du statut social, ainsi que de la richesse des défunts et de la famille qui reste. Eugenia Maximova a collectionné inlassablement les images de ces tombes surprenantes, en format carré, sans effets spéciaux, ni de cadrage, ni de distance. Et son imposante série finit par faire sens en nous rappelant que chez ces nouveaux riches-là, l’argent impose désormais sa loi au sacré.

BIOGRAPHIE

Eugenia Maximova est née en Bulgarie. Elle a étudié le journalisme à l’Université de Vienne et a commencé à s’intéresser à la photographie en 2005 après la mort inattendue de sa mère, peintre bulgare de renom.
« Regarder à travers le viseur et appuyer sur le déclencheur m’a aidé à m’échapper de la réalité douloureuse de sa mort, surmonter le choc et apaiser la peine accablante. Au fil du temps, la photographie est devenue mon moyen de communication préféré ; un nouvel exutoire d’expression créative pour mes sentiments et ma perception du monde », dit-elle. Eugenia voyage partout dans le monde en quête de compréhension et de la vérité visuelle. En 2010 Eugenia a participé au SEE NEW PERSPECTIVES Masterclass organisé par World Press Photography et la Fondation Robert Bosh. En 2011 elle était sélectionnée pour le NOOR – NIKON Masterclass en Photographie Documentaire.

VERNISSAGE


// VERNISSAGE //

VENDREDI 10 MAI - 17H / MAISON DE L'IMAGE DOCUMENTAIRE
3 rue Raspail
En présence de la photographe.

// VISITE AVEC PHOTOGRAPHE //

SAMEDI 11 MAI - 12H30 / MAISON DE L'IMAGE DOCUMENTAIRE

// DÉDICACES //

Des séances de signatures de livres sont organisées en partenariat avec la librairie L'Échappée Belle, lors des vernissages et aux Chais des Moulins, du 8 au 12 mai.

EXPOSITIONS