EN/FR

THOMAS VANDEN DRIESSCHE
How to be a photographer in 4 lessons

OUT OF FOCUS / PICTURETANK / BELGIQUE

www.phototvdd.be
www.outoffocus.be
www.picturetank.com

At the start of 2012, an old photo booth film machine was installed in Brussels in a cultural venue situated close to the home of Thomas Vanden Driessche, the Belgian documentary photographer, a member of the Out Of Focus group.
In the style of Topor, Thomas decided to use this medium and its constraints to narrate through these strips of 4 images, stories about the small world of photography that he had become familiar with over several years. These “How to be a photographer in 4 lessons,” produced on a weekly basis and broadcast to as many people as possible via the internet, ended up developing into a genuine little guide to contemporary photography.
Armed with his old Valentine typewriter, Thomas gives his lessons with his own brand of very personal humour and gentle irony highlighting the stereotypes and spinoffs of certain trends of contemporary photography. On a personal basis the author embraces numerous influences from these great documentary photography trends in his personal works, not sparing himself in his productions and in a certain way questions his own approach.

BIOGRAPHY

Thomas Vanden Driessche was born in Louvain in 1979. He is a graduate of journalism and humanitarian management. Currently a freelance photographer and a member of the Out of Focus group, he was nominated for the Picturetank agency. He works for the Belgian weekly Le Vif l’Express. Enshrined in documentary tradition, his photography is often a frontal representation and distorts reality with particular attention to portrait. His most recent projects tackle contemporary India and its rampant industrialisation. Thomas is also undertaking a lengthy study on the trivialization of violence in Europe. After receiving many awards, in 2011 Thomas Vanden Driessche became a member of the Jury of the Humanitarian Visa d’Or (ICRC). Supported by the association Fêtart responsible for the promotion of young European photography, he currently works in Brussels.

PREVIEW


// PREVIEW //

"How to be a photographer in 4 lessons"
THUESDAY 9th MAY- 16am / ESPACE DON QUICHOTTE - VILLAGE CENTER
547 quai des Moulins
In the presence of the photographer.


// AUTOGRAPHS //

Book signing sessions have been organised in partnership with the bookshop L'Échappée Belle, during previews and at the Chais des Moulins, from 8th to 12th May.

EXHIBITIONS

EN/FR

THOMAS VANDEN DRIESSCHE
How to be a photographer in 4 lessons

OUT OF FOCUS / PICTURETANK / BELGIQUE

www.phototvdd.be
www.outoffocus.be
www.picturetank.com

Début 2012, une vieille machine photomaton argentique est installée à Bruxelles dans un lieu culturel situé à proximité du domicile de Thomas Vanden Driessche, photographe documentaire belge membre du collectif Out Of Focus.
Dans la lignée d’un Topor, il décide d’utiliser ce medium et ses contraintes pour raconter, par l’intermédiaire de ces bandes de 4 images, des histoires sur le petit monde de la photographie qu’il côtoie depuis quelques années. Ces “How to be a photographer in 4 lessons” réalisés sur une base hebdomadaire et diffusés au plus grand nombre via Internet finissent par prendre la forme d’un véritable petit guide de la photographie contemporaine.
Muni de sa veille machine à écrire Valentine, Thomas dispense ses leçons avec un humour très personnel et une douce ironie soulignant les stéréotypes et les dérives de certains courants de la photographie contemporaine. L’auteur qui embrasse à titre personnel de nombreuses influences des grands courants de la photographie documentaire dans ses travaux personnels ne s’épargne pas dans ses mises en scène et interroge d’une certaine manière sa propre démarche.

BIOGRAPHIE

Thomas Vanden Driessche est né à Louvain en 1979. Il est diplômé en journalisme et management humanitaire. Actuellement photographe freelance membre du collectif Out of Focus et nominé au sein de l’agence Picturetank, il collabore pour l’hebdomadaire belge Le Vif l’Express. Inscrite dans la tradition documentaire, sa photographie est souvent frontale et décompose la réalité, avec une attention particulière au portrait. Ses projets les plus récents traitent de l’Inde contemporaine et de son industrialisation galopante. Thomas poursuit aussi un long travail sur la banalisation de la violence en Europe. Après avoir reçu de nombreuses récompenses, Thomas Vanden Driessche devient, en 2011, membre du Jury du Visa d’Or Humanitaire du CICR. Soutenu par l’Association Fêtart en charge de la promotion de la jeune photographie européenne, il travaille actuellement à Bruxelles.

VERNISSAGE


// VERNISSAGE //

JEUDI 09 MAI - 16H / ESPACE DON QUICHOTTE - VILLAGE CENTER
547 quai des Moulins
En présence du photographe.

// VISITE AVEC PHOTOGRAPHE //

VENDREDI 10 MAI - 10H30 / ESPACE DON QUICHOTTE - VILLAGE CENTER

// DÉDICACES //

Des séances de signatures de livres sont organisées en partenariat avec la librairie L'Échappée Belle, lors des vernissages et aux Chais des Moulins, du 8 au 12 mai.

EXPOSITIONS